

2012 BRCA Stockcar National – Round 3 – Fordham

The end of April saw the first of the double header rounds for the Stockcars with Fordham on the Saturday and then a short hop to YPL on the Sunday.

The scout hut at Fordham is not the biggest of venues, but is a very welcoming place and after not being in

attendance at Round 2, Ben Harding was back and wanting to put in some good results to catch up with the leaders of the series. A smaller field of 27 drivers were booked in for the round with 6 of those not being present.

The Track was quickly setup and practice was able to start. Practice was a more laid back affair than the previous couple of rounds due to the lower turn out, most people having driven several times at Fordham and the open nature of the track. Soon the 45 minutes open practice was completed and drivers had their initial setups dialed in.



Cars lined up for the Concourse

With the drivers briefing and safety formalities out of the way, the cars were lined up for the concourse. The winner of the concourse was: Peter Riddell with his F2 inspired signwriting.



The racing was next ...

Round 1

Heat one had two of the leaders in the championship with Ben Harding finishing first recording 98 laps from Adam Sutherland with 92 and Neil Ritchie with 85.

Heat two was won by Clive Buckler with 91 laps from Jonathan Hartley with 87 and a close 3rd/4th place battle between Chris Darlaston and Leighton Holroyd both with 81 laps.

Heat three saw Anthony Wyper take his first win of

the day finishing with 99 laps (the highest of the round) from Jim Burkett with 97 laps and Maikal Rutten with 93 laps.

Round 2

Heat one again saw Adam Sutherland and Ben Harding battling with the same outcome as in the first round. Ben won with 100 laps (highest of the round) from Adam with 92. Jim Burkett was third also on 92 just 8/10th of a second behind Adam. Miklos Szabados did not have the best of starts to the meeting with a gear problem in the first round and then finishing with zero laps in this heat due to transponder problems.

Heat two saw a very close race with the top three drivers all finishing within a lap of each other. Allan Inness managed to top the tree with 92 laps, from Peter Riddell on 91 and Clive Buckler in third just 6/10ths behind.

Heat three was a relatively low scoring heat and although Anthony Wyper won the race with 96 laps, second was Iain Roper with 75 just 6/10th ahead of Keith Stanford also with 75 laps.

Round 3

With half of the heats over and drivers getting to grips with the track, the penultimate round started with a bang.

Heat one had Ben Harding and Adam Sutherland out for the third of their showdowns. Ben finished first with 96 laps from Allan Inness in second with 86 laps and Adam Sutherland also with 86 laps in third. Peter Riddell in fourth and Neil Ritchie in fifth had 85 laps whilst Leighton Holroyd in sixth had 84 laps.

Heat two was a more spread out affair with Clive Buckler leading the pack with 90 laps



Jim Burkett, Ben Harding, Jonathan Hartley and Jamie Pindar

from Chris Darlaston with 89 laps and white top Jamie Pindar getting 87 laps.

Heat three had the National Points champion (Anthony Wyper) stamp his authority on qualification finishing with the FTQ of 103 laps from Jim Burkett in second 91 laps and yellow top Anthony Wade with 90 laps.

Round 4

Heat one of this round saw Anthony Wyper again break the 3 figure number of laps putting in the second largest score of 101 from Adam Sutherland picking up second with 94 laps and Miklos' car finished without any problems and 89 laps.

Heat two had Jim Burkett win his first race of the day at his home track with 90 laps, from Peter Riddell on 88 laps and Clive Buckler on 87 laps.

Heat three and the final heat of qualification saw Ben Harding try to chase down the FTQ. He finished first with 96 laps, from Maikal Rutten with 88 laps and Anthony Wade with 86 laps.



Consolation Races Line up for the start

Finals

The Consolation final was first up with Allan Inness off pole from Leighton Holroyd. It was an exciting race where the lead was swapped back and forth between them both throughout and only decided in the final few seconds where Allan got caught up in an accident that Leighton managed to avoid.

The finishing places were Leighton Holroyd 88 laps, Allan Inness 88 laps, Jamie Pindar 84 laps, Jonathan Hartley 84 laps, Neil Ritchie 83 laps,

Anthony Wade 81 laps, Iain Roper 78 laps and Joe Fletcher 39 laps.

An all comers race was arranged between the Consolation and A final with the winner being Keith Stanford 82 laps 4/10th of a second ahead of Joe Fletcher also with 82 laps. Alan Harding came third with 76 laps and Mark Kiddy came fourth with 74 laps.

The last race of the day was the A final. This had two separate races in it, with a battle for first and second between Anthony Wyper and Ben Harding and then a battle for third, forth and fifth between Jim Burkett, Maikal Rutten and Adam Sutherland. The result of the race was: Anthony Wyper 98 laps, Ben Harding 96 laps, Jim Burkett 91 laps, Maikal Rutten 90 laps, Adam Sutherland 88 laps, Clive Buckler 86 laps, Peter Riddell 82 laps and Leighton Holroyd with 79 laps.



Final cars ready for the start

Trophies were handed out to the eight finalists and also for the following people:

Concourse	Peter Riddell
Best White	Jamie Pindar
Best Yellow	Anthony Wade
Best Blue	Iain Roper
Best Junior	Adam Sutherland
All Comers Winner	Keith Stanford

Miklos was thanked for running the event as without any problems and everyone left looking forwards to the following days racing at the YPL National on a totally different style of track.

Report by Chris Darlaston, photos by Loran Darlaston.